Nine new POPs

At its fourth meeting held from 4 to 8 May 2009, the Conference of the Parties (COP), by decisions SC-4/10 to SC-4/18, adopted amendments to Annexes A (elimination), B (restriction) and C (unintentional production) of the Stockholm Convention to list nine additional chemicalsas persistent organic pollutants.

  • Pesticides: chlordecone, alpha hexachlorocyclohexane, beta hexachlorocyclohexane, lindane, pentachlorobenzene;
  • Industrial chemicals:  hexabromobiphenyl, hexabromodiphenyl ether and heptabromodiphenyl ether, pentachlorobenzene, perfluorooctane sulfonic acid, its salts and perfluorooctane sulfonyl fluoride, tetrabromodiphenyl ether and pentabromodiphenyl ether; and
  • By-products: alpha hexachlorocyclohexane, beta hexachlorocyclohexane and pentachlorobenzene.