Convention on long-range transboundary air pollution (CLRTAP)

The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) adopted the Protocol on POPs as part of the CLRTAP (Convention on long-range transboundary air pollution) on the 24 June 1998 in Aarhus, Denmark.  This Protocol established a list of 16 POPs substances, comprising eleven pesticides, two industrial chemicals and three byproducts. The ultimate objective of the Protocol is to eliminate any discharges, emissions and losses of POPs to the environment.  Under the Protocol, the production and use of Aldrin, Chlordane, Chlordecone, Dieldrin, Endrin, Hexabromobiphenyl, Mirex and Toxaphene is banned.  Other chemicals are scheduled for elimination at a later stage (DDT, Heptachlor, Hexaclorobenzene, PCBs).  The Protocol severely restricts the use of DDT, HCH (including Lindane) and PCBs.  It also requires parties to reduce their emissions of Dioxins, Furans, PAHs and HCB, and sets specific limit values for the incineration of municipal, hazardous and medical waste. The CLRTAP Protocol on POPs entered into force on the 23 October 2003.  There are, at present, 36 signatories to the Protocol, including many European nations. So far, 24 of the signatories have ratified the Protocol.